Skip to content

Limiting Users’ Network Traffic and Bandwidth

In SolusVM 2.0, you can limit bandwidth as well as incoming and outgoing traffic that users’ servers consume. These limits are monthly and you set them in a plan. Once a server based on the plan exceeds the limits, the server owner receives an email notification about it and the server network bandwidth is reduced (if you set so).

Limiting network traffic helps you to stay within your network traffic budget. Limiting bandwidth prevents servers from monopolizing bandwidth.

To limit network traffic and bandwidth:

  1. Go to Compute Resources > Plans and add a new plan or edit an existing one.
  2. Unfold the "Network limits" section. Next to the limits you want to set, select Limit, specify the desired value, and then select the unit of measurement.

    You have three types of limits:

    • Incoming and outgoing network bandwidth limits restrict the amount of data a server can download and upload per second. This bandwidth is applied while a server doesn't exceed the incoming and outgoing network traffic limits described below.
    • Incoming and outgoing traffic limits restrict the amount of data a server can download and upload per month using the bandwidth mentioned above. Once a server exceeds the incoming and/or outgoing traffic limits, SolusVM 2.0 sends an email notification to the server owner. The server incoming and outgoing bandwidth will be also reduced if you set the limit below.
    • You can specify the reduced bandwidth value in "Reduce network bandwidth if a virtual server reached the traffic limit". The reduced bandwidth is applied when a server exceeds the incoming and/or outgoing traffic limits.

  3. Select when to reset the limits automatically. Limit reset nullifies the incoming and outgoing server traffic and brings back the usual bandwidth value if the reduced bandwidth was applied.

    You can reset the limits on the first of each month or on the date a server was created. For example, if a user created a server on the 20th of January, selecting the second option will reset the server limits on the 20th of each month.

    You can also turn off automatic limit reset. In this case, you may want to use manual limit reset.

  4. Once you've set the desired limits and chose when to reset them, click Save.

SolusVM 2.0 applies the set limits to both already existing and new servers based on the plan.

Users can see how close their servers are to the network limits on the "Networking" tab of the servers. When a server exceeds the network limit, SolusVM 2.0 shows the icon and sends an email notification to the server owner.

On the screenshot above, a server exceeded the incoming traffic limit of 10 GB.

Manual Reset of the Network Limits

Automatic limit reset is applied to all servers based on a plan. To reset the network limits of an individual server, use manual reset. It's useful if you need to reset the network limits upon user request.

Note

After manual limit reset, a server can run out of the network limits within a month again.

Automatic and manual limit reset have both similarities and differences. For details, see the table below:

Limit Reset Type Automatic Manual
What it does. Nullifies the incoming and outgoing server traffic and brings back the usual bandwidth value (if the reduced bandwidth was applied). Nullifies the incoming and outgoing server traffic and brings back the usual bandwidth value (if the reduced bandwidth was applied).
Applied to All servers based on a plan. An individual server.
How often the limits can be reset. Once a month. As many times as you want.
When the limits can be reset. On the first of each month or on the date a server was created. You define this in the “When limits are reset” setting. At any time.
If it changes the “When limits are reset” setting. No

To reset the network limits of a server manually:

  1. Go to Compute Resources and click the name of the compute resource to which the server belongs.
  2. Next to the server hostname, click the icon.
  3. To reset all the network limits of the server, click Reset traffic and then click Yes, reset!.

You've reset the server network limits. The server bandwidth will now return from the reduced value to the usual one.

Back to top