Skip to content

Offering Paid Backups

In this topic, you'll learn the following:

  • How to set up paid backups and enable them in a plan.
  • How to disable paid backups and what impact it has.
  • How customers buy backups.

In SolusVM 2.0, you can set up the paid backups feature for customers to buy. Customers will then be able to create, store, and restore backups. Learn more about backups.

To offer paid backups, you first need to add a backup node and integrate billing. Then you enable paid backups in each plan individually. Therefore, you can have multiple plans with or without paid backups.

To set up paid backups and enable them in a plan:

  1. Log in to SolusVM 2.0.
  2. Add a backup node to store backups.
  3. Set up postpaid billing using the SolusVM 2.0 WHMCS Pay As You Go module (WHMCS calls it post-pay billing) or any custom billing system.

    Note

    At the moment, paid backups work with postpaid billing only. In the future, paid backups will be available with prepaid billing as well.

  4. Go to Compute Resources > Plans.

  5. Click the icon corresponding to the plan which will offer paid backups to customers. We assume that you've already set the hourly and monthly prices in tokens for the plan.
  6. Turn on "Offer backups", specify the backup price, and then click Save.

    You set the backup price as a percentage of the server runtime price in tokens. For example, if the plan monthly price is 5,000 tokens and you set the backup price at 10%, your customers will additionally pay 500 tokens for this plan every month if backups are enabled.

You now offer paid backups in the plan. Customers can now buy this feature when they create servers. They can also buy it for already existing servers at any time later.

If customers choose to buy the feature, they will see the final price, which consists of the server and backup prices.

Disabling Backups

Your customers and you as the SolusVM 2.0 administrator can disable paid backups at any time. However, the effects are different depending on how backups are disabled:

  • If a customer disables paid backups for a server, the server's existing backups will be irrevocably deleted.
  • If a customer or you disable paid backups in a plan, customers will no longer be able to create backups within the plan but already existing backups will be preserved.

To disable paid backups in a plan:

  1. Go to Compute Resources > Plans.
  2. Click the icon corresponding to the plan which will no longer offer paid backups to customers.
  3. Turn off "Offer backups" and then click Save.

Backups and Server Resize

In SolusVM 2.0, customers can resize servers to increase the amount of disk space, CPU, and RAM the servers have. Resize is possible only if you have created plans that have more resources than the plan a customer already uses.

Resizing a server to a plan with enabled backups preserves the server's existing backups. Resizing to a plan that doesn't offer backups irrevocably deletes the server's existing backups.

!!! note::

SolusVM 2.0 explicitly informs customers before any actions that can delete their backups.

Incremental Backups and Server Resize

If a server has at least one incremental backup, a customer can resize the server only by increasing CPU and RAM leaving the disk space as it is. See the "CPU and RAM only" setting on the screenshot below.

If a customer still wants to resize the disk space, they need to do the following:

  • Disable backups during resize.
  • Resize to a plan that doesn't offer backups.

Danger

Both options will irrevocably delete the server's existing backups.

Note

SolusVM 2.0 explicitly informs customers before any actions that can delete their backups.

Back to top