Skip to content

Locking and Suspending User Accounts

In SolusVM 2.0, it is possible to lock and suspend user accounts.

If a user account is locked, the user can no longer create virtual servers, projects, and project member invitations.

If a user account is suspended, the user gets the restrictions of the “locked” status described above plus two more:

  • The user’s servers are suspended. It means that the servers are stopped and the user can’t start them.
  • Scheduled backups are no longer created.

The possibility to lock and suspend user accounts is particularly important for billing. If billing is integrated with SolusVM 2.0 and a user stops paying for provided services, the billing system can lock or suspend the user account in SolusVM 2.0. To do so, the billing system sends an API request to SolusVM 2.0.

You, as the SolusVM 2.0 administrator, can also lock and suspend user accounts in the SolusVM 2.0 interface or via the API.

To lock or suspend a user account:

  1. Go to Access > Users.
  2. Click the icon on the row of the user whose account you want to lock or suspend.
  3. Under “Status”, select “Locked” or “Suspended” and then click Save.

You have changed the status of the user account. The user will now see the message in the user area that their account was locked or suspended.

You can always lift the restrictions of the “locked” or “suspended” status. To do so, change the status of the user account back to “active”.

Back to top